Whether you are driving a car or riding in one as a passenger, you are at risk of injury in a car crash. If you have been injured in a car accident caused by negligence or misconduct, you may be entitled to financial compensation for your injury. A car accident can result in property damage as well as personal injury. If your accident was another person’s fault, you deserve to be restored for the damages you suffered. For more information about your rights and legal options, you should speak with an experienced Overland Park personal injury attorney.
- At Dollar, Burns, Becker & Hershewe, we are committed to our clients and fight passionately to get the best outcome for every case.
- With over a century of experience and over a billion dollars in verdicts and settlements, we have a track record of success.
- Our nationally-recognized lawyers strategically pursue all avenues of liability to demand accountability and maximize compensation for you and your loved ones.
If you have been injured in a car accident, call Dollar, Burns, Becker & Hershewe toll-free today at (877) 816-2600 to schedule a free consultation with one of our experienced Overland Park car accident attorneys.
Car Insurance Requirements in Missouri
Missouri law requires all motor vehicle owners and drivers to maintain an insurance policy. Motorists must show proof of insurance when registering their vehicle. Unfortunately, some vehicle owners and drivers do not maintain their insurance policies causing hardship for victims of car accidents resulting from their actions. The minimum insurance requirement for Missouri vehicle owners and drivers is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
Common Car Accident Injuries
Even a fender-bender can leave you with an injury that can disrupt your life for a significant period of time. When you are in a car accident, you should see a doctor as soon as possible even if you have no visible injuries. Some common car accident injuries are:
- Traumatic brain injury
- Head injury
- Broken bones
- Spinal cord injury
- Internal bleeding
How Much Time Do I Have to File a Claim?
In Missouri, the statute of limitation for filing a car accident injury claim is five years. While this time limit is generous, it is in your best interest to take action as soon as possible after the accident that caused your injury. Waiting too long to file a claim can impact your ability to recover for your damages. The longer you wait, the more difficult it may be to gather the evidence required to support your claim. Other complications may arise, such as the death of the legally responsible party in your case. Although that may not bar you from recovering damages, it adds another layer of legal complexity to your case.
Get a Free Consultation with an Overland Park Car Accident Attorney
If you have been injured in a car accident caused by another person’s negligence or misconduct, Dollar, Burns, Becker & Hershewe can help you. Let our experienced car accident lawyers in Overland Park help you recover the compensation you need to get your life back on track while you focus on your recovery. Call us toll-free today at (877) 816-2600 to speak with one of our experienced car accident attorneys in Overland Park.